Gliding into a New Adventure ❄

My Experience Learning Ice Skating ⛸

Nabhel
3 min readOct 11, 2023
Photo of ice skates & gloves

I’ve come to understand that no one has everything figured out; even the people you look up to are equally perplexed as you are. Reminiscing on my work, I decided to take a much-needed break. I’d been feeling overwhelmed and stressed, and I knew it was time to do something different, something that would take me out of my comfort zone. I’d always enjoyed watching figure skating on TV, admiring the grace and precision of the skaters as they jump and spin on the ice. Little did I know that this seemingly elegant sport would prove to be quite a challenge.

The idea of gliding effortlessly across the ice seemed like the perfect way to spend my break or as I like to call it “mental health day”. So, with newfound determination, I grabbed my socks and gloves, and headed to the ice skating rink.

When I arrived at the rink, I rented a pair of ice skates and gingerly made my way onto the ice. My heart raced with excitement, but as soon as my feet touched the frozen surface, I realized just how difficult ice skating could be. I wobbled and slipped, barely managing to stay upright. I chuckled at my initial overconfidence and pushed myself to try again. As I tried to walk on the ice holding onto the barricade, I couldn’t help but admire the experienced skaters gliding past me effortlessly. They made it look so easy!

I, on the other hand, struggled to maintain my balance and control my movements. Oh boy!! I fell several times, each fall accompanied by laughter from both me and those around me.

Nabhel in an ice skating rink

A staff member came over to help me up and taught me how to walk first on the ice by doing laps around the rink while holding on to the barricade. Despite the initial challenges, I was determined to learn. I watched the more experienced skaters closely, paying attention to their techniques. Slowly but surely, I started to get the hang of it. I learned how to distribute my weight, how to push off with each stride. With every lap around the rink, I gained more confidence.

One of the most exhilarating moments was when I finally learned how to glide, pushing myself to the center of the rink and finally leaving the barricades. It was a simple maneuver, but it felt like a significant achievement. As the day went on, I became more comfortable on the ice, discovering how to pivot and glide with greater ease. Of course, I still fell from time to time, but I had also learned how to fall gracefully and minimize the impact. The ice was cold, but my heart was warm with the sense of accomplishment and the sheer joy of the experience.

By the end of the day, I felt like a different person. Ice skating had not only been a fun and exciting adventure, but it had also taught me valuable lessons about persistence and self-discovery. I realized that sometimes, the things we see on TV may seem easy, but mastering them takes time, effort, and a willingness to learn from our mistakes.

As I left the rink, tired but elated, I couldn’t help but smile. My mental health day had turned into a day of physical and emotional growth. I had conquered the challenge of ice skating, and in doing so, I had also taken a step toward conquering the challenges in my own life.

--

--